We use cookies to track user visits on this website but all data collected is anonymous and is used only for the purpose of improving the site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. You will only see this message once.

Find out more
Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust Header Banner

Non-Executive Director Changes at Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

31 May 2015

The NHS Trust Development Authority (NHS TDA) has confirmed the appointment of John Nutton as a Non-Executive Director of Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust (YAS) from 5 June 2015 for a two-year term.

John joined the Trust Board in October 2013 in a Designate Non-Executive Director capacity. He has a strong background in corporate finance and experience in financial management, audit and consultancy gained at the Leeds office of accountants RSM Robson Rhodes. John has been a key observer of each of the committees of the Board and is widely involved in the Trust’s strategic development and business planning.

Non-executive appointments to NHS Trusts made by the NHS TDA are subject to the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

John has been appointed from 5 June 2015 until 4 June 2017 and is entitled to receive a remuneration of £6,157 per annum. He has declared no political activity in the last five years.

John succeeds Elaine Bond who is about to complete a four-year term as Non-Executive Director at the Trust. She is a former Group Operations Director at UK Greetings Ltd and has been a member of YAS’s Trust Board since 2011. She is also Chairman of the Trust's Finance and Investment Committee, and a member of the Quality and Audit Committees.

Chairman of the Yorkshire Ambulance Service Trust Board Della M Cannings QPM said: “John is a very experienced accountant and has the benefit of already knowing YAS well. I am looking forward to him taking up the full post of Non-Executive Director which will include membership of the Finance and Investment, Quality and Audit Committees. I would like to thank Elaine for her valuable contribution to the Trust. She has been a highly respected member of the Board during her four-year
term bringing a wealth of commercial acumen to her role. I wish her well with her future plans.”

John Nutton said: “It is a challenging time for the whole of the NHS and whilst there are undoubtedly exciting developments to be progressed there will also be some difficult decisions to be made. Having been part of YAS for just over a year and a half I am thoroughly looking forward to getting more fully involved.”

Elaine Bond added: “I have thoroughly enjoyed my four-year tenure with YAS. In this time I have seen progressive change within a difficult and uncertain landscape. I would like to thank my colleagues on the Board and wish all the staff of Yorkshire Ambulance Service the greatest success going forward as they move towards securing Foundation Trust status.”

Vacancy for Designate Non-Executive Director
The NHS TDA is now advertising the vacant appointment of designate non-executive director to serve on the YAS Trust Board.

This opportunity would suit someone with significant experience, gained at director level or equivalent, in a large and complex organisation who can share their talents and expertise to make a positive difference to the lives of people in Yorkshire and the Humber.

The Trust is looking for an individual with a genuine commitment to patients and the promotion of excellent health care services with a high level understanding of the principles of sound corporate governance and strong analytical and critical reasoning skills.

A designate non-executive director will make a full contribution to the Board’s debates and discussions but will have no voting rights.

For more information and to apply for the role of designate non-executive director, interested candidates should visit the NHS Trust Development Authority website

The closing date for applications to be received is 11.00am on Thursday 4 June 2015.

Candidates must live in Yorkshire and the Humber.

Produced By: Corporate Communications Department